Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

CGSG masthead

Cultural Geography Specialty Group


The Cultural Geography Specialty Group (CGSG) seeks to promote and encourage scholarly research and superior teaching in the field of Cultural Geography through the exchange of current thought, trends, and information focusing on all areas of the field. The CGSG shall encourage, facilitate and sponsor the organization of paper sessions and discussion panels at national and regional meetings of the Association of American Geographers (AAG) as well as other seminars, symposiums, and conferences at which themes relating to Cultural Geography are discussed. The CGSG will also reward junior scholars by hosting paper competitions and awarding research grants. The CGSG will stimulate dialog and represent members in all matters related to membership in the national association (AAG).

    AAG Annual Meeting

    Chicago, Illinois
    April 21-25, 2015

     •  Learn more


CGSG Bylaws


CGSG Annual Report


CGSG Newsletter

CGSG Place & Culture

Click image to view PDF.

Executive Board

Chris Post
Chair | 2013-2015
Kent State University at Stark

Ola Johansson
Secretary-Treasurer | 2014-2016
University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown

Nicholas Jon Crane
Program Director | 2014-2016
Ohio Wesleyan University

Angela Subulwa
Awards Director | 2013-2015
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Emily Fekete
Nominations Director | 2014-2016
University of Kansas

Don Colley
Grad Student Rep | 2013-2015
San Diego State University

Matthew Cook
Grad Student Rep | 2014-2016
University of Tennessee

Beth Schlemper
Ex-Officio | Past CGSG Chair
University of Toledo

CGSG website banner photos were chosen
from the Annual CGSG Photo Exhibit and
will be featured in a future issue of
FOCUS on Geography