Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Staff Excellence Award

2014 Staff Excellence Award

2014 Staff Excellence Award Winners

Pictured left to right
: Mary Birtalan, staff recipient,
library associate; Dr. Walter Wagor, former dean;
and Katie Baer, administrative recipient,
educational technology designer.

Past Award Recipients:

Staff: Jeff Leadbetter
Administrator: Gail Pukys

Staff: Sylvia Smith
Administrator: Connie Kramer

Staff: Stephanie Tarver
Administrator: Kristi Yerian

Staff: Terri Blasiman
Administrator: Julie Spotts

Staff: Lori Shankel
Administrator: Jason Piatt

Staff: Sharon Schreffler
Administrator: Willie Shoemaker

Staff Excellence Award

Each year Kent State University at Stark recognizes outstanding staff members as nominated by their peers. One award is given to an outstanding staff member, and one award is given to an outstanding administrator.

2014 Staff Excellence Award Nomination Procedures

The Staff Excellence Award Committee is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Staff Excellence Award for a classified staff member and an unclassified staff member. Full and part-time employees are eligible to be nominated.

Deadline to submit nominations is Friday, March 7, 2014 at 5 p.m.

All Kent State Stark faculty and staff are eligible to nominate staff members who they feel meet the following criteria:

  • Gives 100% effort
  • Demonstrates a positive attitude
  • Shows a strong commitment to their job and Kent State
  • Continuously helps others
  • Is dependable, conscientious and caring
  • Exceeds job and workload demands
  • Works easily with people; collegial
  • Motivates others

Note that this award is not a popularity contest. Keep in mind the unsung heroes of our campus community.

Examples of your experiences with the nominee and a detailed explanation on how they demonstrate the above in their daily activities are required.

Submit Nomination 

Save the Date
 Save the Date! 

 The Staff Excellence Award Ceremony will be held:
   Friday, April 11
   3:30 p.m.
   Main Hall Auditorium
   - Light refreshments will be provided.

Questions can be directed to:

Jeff Leadbetter

Gail Pukys

2014 Staff Excellence Award Committee Members:
  • Jeff Leadbetter
  • Gail Pukys
  • Madonna Gay
  • Anne Haas
  • Partha Rajagopal
  • Jeffery Tackett
  • Paul Wells

While committee members can be nominated, they are not eligible to receive an award.

2014 Staff Nominees

* finalist

Jessica Anderson*
Mary Birtalan*
Barb Elsass
Denise Evans
Beth Hayes*
Todd Johnson
Jeannie Reisdorf*
Christine Schoolcraft
Lori Shankel
Cort Sutherland

2014 Administrator Nominees

* finalist

Venecia Alexander*
Katie Baer*
Laurie Camp
Stacie Humm
Faith Sheaffer-Polen
Diane Walker*
Amanda Weyant*
Cynthia Williams
Louis Williams