Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

2014-2015 Faculty Council

  • I: Arts & Humanities
    Sebastian Birch
    Thomas Norton-Smith (Chair)
    Leslie Heaphy (Treasurer)

  • II: Social Sciences
    Mitch McKenney
    J. Brad Shepherd
    Deirdre Warren (Cabinet)

  • III: Science & Mathematics
    Robert Hamilton (Cabinet)
    Gro Hovhannisyan
    Matthew Lehnert

  • IV: Language Arts
    Keith Lloyd (Vice-Chair)
    Jayne Moneysmith (Secretary)
    Rob Sturr

  • V: Professional Programs
    Peter Dorff
    Scott Tobias (Cabinet)
    Deb Shelestak

  • VI: Non-Tenure Track
    Greg Blundell
    Don Thacker (Cabinet)
    Beth Campbell


Membership on most committees for the academic year are determined in early fall. Committees marked with an asterisk are spring semester committees. Faculty indicate their committee preferences using an online form at the end of August. Faculty have an additional opportunity at the end of the fall semester to renew their preferences for the spring committees.

Faculty Council Cabinet, with advice from the deans, nominate individuals for committee membership, which is then submitted for approval to Faculty Council at the September and January meeting. Except for the Technology Committee, all chairs of Committees of Council are required to be members of Faculty Council. 

Membership on all committees is open to all faculty.

Committees of Council

Term: September 2014 - August 2015
  • Committee I: Professional Activities Advisory Committee (PAAC)
    Advises the dean on matters such as faculty travel approval requests, sabbaticals, load lifts and grants. This committee is chaired by the Vice-Chair and includes five faculty members.
    • Keith Lloyd (Chair), Ralph Menning, Allyson Drinkard, Cindy Barb, Lori Wilfong

  • Committee II
    Serves Council for the numerous general tasks requiring short-term attention.
    • Rob Sturr (Chair), Lindsay Starkey, Brian Chopko, Carrie Schweitzer, Scott Tobias
  • Faculty Colloquium Committee
    Plans faculty colloquia and other faculty seminar series.
    • Joel Carbonell (Chair), Mary Gallagher, Paula Sato, Deepraj Mukherjee
  • Handbook Committee
    Proposes timely revisions to the Stark Campus Faculty Handbook in response to changes in university and campus policies and procedures.
    • Brad Shepherd (Chair), Don Thacker, Jayne Moneysmith, Bei Cai, Lucas Engelhardt

  • Social Committee
    Plans various social events, e.g., holiday and spring dinners. This committee is chaired by the Council Treasurer.
    • Leslie Heaphy (Chair), Gwendolyn Purifoye, Kim Finer, Partha Rajagopal

  • Technology Committee
    Evaluates and advocates for the appropriate uses of instructional technology at Kent State Stark.
    • Clarke Earley (Chair), Sebastian Birch, Jen Cunningham, Greg Blundell, Adeel Bhutta

Stark Campus Committees

  • Academic Planning Committee
    Term: September 2014 - August 2015
    Plans the campus theme and advises the dean on curricular and programmatic development. This committee has a representative from each faculty constituency group.
    • Dee Warren (Chair), Kim Garchar, Leslie Heaphy, Kim Finer, Deb Shelestak, Jayne Moneysmith

  • Activities Budget Committee
    Term: September 2014 - August 2015
    Plans the budget for campus activities.
    • Mary Rooks (Chair), Jack McWhorter, Natalie Mallis, Beth Butler, Scott Tobias

  • AURCO Representative
    Term: September 2014 - August 2015
    One year appointment to represent our campus to the Association of University Regional Campuses of Ohio.
    • Representative: Anne Haas

  • Black History Committee*
    Develops, organizes and implements all Black History Month (February) events.
    • 2014: Robert Hamilton (Chair), Leslie Heaphy, Brian Chopko
    • 2015: Robert Hamilton (Chair), Joel Carbonell, Tim Montgomery

  • Distinguished Teaching Award Committee*
    Seeks out and selects recipients for the Kent State Stark Distinguished Teaching Award (full-time faculty) and the Award of Recognition (part-time faculty). Please note that members of this committee are not eligible for the award.
    • Under review

  • Diversity Committee*
    Enhances diversity on campus.
    • 2014: Brenda Smith (Chair), Katrina Bloch, Robert Hamilton, Cyndi Trocchio, Robert Miltner, Lynn Adams, Will Casterlow (Admissions), Lisa Givan (Multicultural Initiatives)
    • 2015: Jim Seelye (Chair), Katrina Bloch, Robert Hamilton, Brenda Smith, Jay Sloan, Will Casterlow (Admissions), Lisa Givan (Multicultural Initiatives)

  • LGBT Faculty Committee*
    Promotes educational events to raise awareness of LGBT issues at Kent State Stark and to support faculty in the development of the LGBT minor on campus.
    • 2014: Katrina Bloch (Chair), Allyson Drinkard, Dee Warren, Jay Sloan, Margie Lehnert, Sebastian Birch
    • 2015: Jay Sloan (Chair), Robert Miltner, Anne Haas, Mason Shuman

  • Speaker Series Committee*
    Solicits, reviews and recommends proposals to the Dean for Faculty Speaker Series. Supports chosen speakers in terms of facilitating the event.
    • 2014: Mitch McKenney (Chair), Melissa Bauer, Leslie Heaphy
    • 2015: Partha Rajagopal, Greg Smith, Lynn Adams

  • Student Complaint Committee*
    Receives and reviews information from all parties involved in a student complaint. The committee then identifies possible solutions and makes recommendations to the campus dean.
    • Term: July 2014 - June 2015
      Rob Kairis (Chair), Daniel Castaneda, Bei Cai, Joel Carbonell, P. Bagavandoss (alt)
    • Term: July 2015 - June 2016
      Rob Kairis (Chair), Pete Dorff, Brenda Smith, Chrissy Kauth, Bei Cai (alt)

  • Student Research Travel Committee
    Term: September 2014 - August 2015
    Allocates money to students who will be presenting conference papers. Needs three faculty members.
    • Leslie Heaphy (Chair), Gro Hovhannisyan, Greg Smith, Ann Martinez, Angela Guercio

  • Student Scholarship Committee
    Term: September 2014 - August 2015
    Selects recipients for scholarships available from Kent State Stark foundation accounts.
    • Members: Kurt Drotleff (Chair; Financial Aid), Andy Burns, Chris Post, Chih-ling Liou, Claudia Gomez, Eric Taylor, Amanda Paulus, Lisa Givan, Ashley Brightbill, Ryan Bucher, Monica Conley, Chris Paveloi, Amanda Weyant, Lisa Hart, Karen Fettig (Ex Officio; Advancement)

  • Undergraduate Research Assistant Committee
    Term: September 2014 - August 2015
    Reviews applications from students and faculty, matching students with appropriate faculty research projects.
    • Deepraj Mukherjee (Chair), P. Bagavandoss, Loretta Aller, Jay Sloan

  • Women’s History Committee*
    Plans, organizes and publicizes events for the celebration of Women’s History Month (March).
    • 2014: Cyndi Trocchio (Chair), Angela Guercio, Brad Shepherd, Lindsay Starkey, Partha Rajagopal
    • 2015: Brenda Smith (Chair), Marie Gasper-Hulvat, Laura Brison, Lynn Adams